Ban This Anthology! Extremely Dangerous!!!

Ban This: The BSP Anthology of Xican@ Literature

I wrote the opening essay for this powerful new book called Ban This: The BSP Anthology of Xican@ Literature, edited by SJ Rivera, which was published on July 4th, 2012, is now available at Barnes & Nobles and in paperback from Broken Sword Publications.

Book Description:
WARNING: This book is a weapon. This book is extremely dangerous. This book is explosive. This book is illegal. This book could land you in jail! Broken Sword Publications proudly presents, ¡Ban This! The BSP Anthology of Xican@ Literature, an unparalleled survey of some the best Xican@ voices of the modern era. Santino J. Rivera, author and indie publisher, introduces readers to the most significant and compelling voices of the Xican@ movement since Message to Aztlán. Selecting the best literature available from barrios coast to coast, Rivera has created an anthology that in itself is an act of defiance to those who would ban books, censor culture and re-write history. This collection reflects both a dynamic and cohesive portrait of modern Xican@ literature – which is American literature. These are the stories for a new generation of revolutionaries. This groundbreaking anthology includes works by Francisco X. Alarcón, Gustavo Arellano, Lalo Alcaraz, Luis Alberto Urrea, Rodolfo Acuña as well as works from many new voices culled from the woodsheds of Neo Aztlán. ¡Ban This! The BSP Anthology of Xican@ Literature is a weapon of mass education. These are our stories and they deserve to be heard. This book is a tightly-packed tome of literary rebellion just waiting to be unleashed.

Full list of contributors in alphabetical order:

Adrianna Simone
Alejandro Dennis Morales
Andrea J. Serrano
Annemarie Pérez
Art Meza
David Cid
Del Zamora
Francisco X. Alarcón
Frank Mundo
Frank S. Lechuga
Gina Ruiz
Gustavo Arellano
Hector Chavana Jr.
Jessica Lopez Lyman
Jim Marquez
Johnathan Gomez
José-Ariel Cuevas
Karina Oliva
Lalo Alcaraz
Lauro Vasquez
Lizz Huerta
Luis Alberto Urrea
Luisa Leija
Maria Cesena
Mario Barrera
Matt Sedillo
Miguel Jimenez
Milo M. Alvarez
Noemi Martinez
Odilia Galván Rodríguez
Phyllis Victoria Lopez
Roberto “Dr. Cintli” Rodriguez
Rodolfo Acuna
Sara Ines Calderon
Santino J. Rivera
Vincent Cooper
Xicano X

Frank Mundo is the author of The Brubury Tales and Gary, the Four-Eyed Fairy and Other Stories.


Leave a comment

Filed under Events, Stories

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s