Most Influential: Five favorite books by bestselling author Robert Dugoni

 Robert Dugoni, Five Favorite Books at the LA Books ExaminerFive Favorites is a new feature at the LA Books Examiner in which our favorite authors share and discuss their five favorite books within a category. In this edition, Robert Dugoni, bestselling author of Wrongful Death and Bodily Harm, discusses his five favorite (and most influential to his writing) books.

Most Influential — Five Favorite Books by Author Robert Dugoni 
 
1) Lonesome Dove, Larry McMurtry (1988)
No book has ever made me feel as emotionally invested in its characters or a period and setting I’ll never personally get to experience. Lonesome Dove spoke to me in ways no other book has, at a time in my life when I needed a good escape. I read it when I turned thirty, and my life hadn’t developed as I had expected. As I reached that age when we realize we aren’t going to be President, or a famous actor, but just a cog in the wheel of life, I remember shutting the book at two o’clock in the morning, alone in my flat in San Francisco, and crying. I cried because Captain Call was alone, so many great friends dead and gone, and I could empathize. No book had ever made me cry before, and none since. 

2) Presumed Innocent, Scott Turow (1989)
I recently reread this novel, and found myself struck more by the prose than the plot. The second time through, knowing the ending, I was able to focus more on the craft, and the language used by Turow is really inspiring. Every word choice appears to be spot on. A practicing lawyer at the time, I read Presumed Innocent the first time with a desire to return to writing, and this was the book that gave me the bug to return to my artistic endeavors. Shortly after reading it I picked up the phone at work, called ACT Theater in San Francisco, and began taking acting classes, then doing plays throughout the Bay Area. I studied character development, dialogue and conflict, and I knew I wanted to write again. I knew I had to change my life. When a book changes your life, it makes the list of top five.

 
 
1 Comment

Filed under Five Favorite Books

One response to “Most Influential: Five favorite books by bestselling author Robert Dugoni

  1. Just want to say what a great blog you got here!
    I’ve been around for quite a lot of time, but finally decided to show my appreciation of your work!

    Thumbs up, and keep it going!

    Cheers
    Christian, iwspo.net

Leave a Reply

